Finding The Right Fit

I think the key to being productive when you are working for yourself, or working on projects where you have no deadlines, is that you have to be willing to work all the time. I’ve tried to set myself up with a routine and it doesn’t seem to be working for me, and I think it’s because I’m naturally more productive in the evenings. Even though I know this, I’m still trying to fit myself into a normal work day schedule, which very well may not be the right fit for me. Given the choice, I would rather stay up until 4am writing, than get up at 6am and try to get started then. Back in university when I  had to write exams, I refused to start writing them before 10pm, because I never felt like I could focus before that point. I like to pretend it’s because everyone goes to sleep at night and so I can have all the creative and productive juices. Even when I was doing NaNoWriMo (which I’m awesome at, by the way) I found that I was most productive at night and in the wee hours of the morning. Though, I will say that the most productive day I’ve ever had was a day that I woke up and wrote for the majority of the day. I did over 15,000 words that day and I was pretty happy with that. I think it was because I decided to start NaNoWriMo on the twentieth day so I only had ten days to write 50,000 words. And I did. I don’t think I’ve mentioned it, but I work really well under pressure.

Which is why I need to set deadlines for myself. Not just “write for x hours”, but “write for at least x hours and accomplish these three things”, or whatever. I recently realized that I’ve been carrying my agenda around with me for a entire week and writing nothing of consequence in it. I think the only thing finite I’ve been writing down is “blog”, but that’s not even something I’m likely to forget. Sure I don’t really remember about my blog during every hour of the day, but I always remember at night. Despite my body’s best efforts to not have a routine, I’m starting to get a night time one down pat. I recently started vlogging, and so at the end of the night I import my footage and edit my vlog together, then, while that’s exporting, I blog. Routine successfully implemented. Though, I’d definitely be good with blogging during the day. In fact, I think the plan was to blog midday. But hey! I guess you just go with what you have at the moment, and I don’t want to disrupt this routine until I have another one in place. Tomorrow is Sunday, which means Monday follows it and so does my attempt at the second week of my routine. We shall see.

Leave a Reply

