A Better Day

After yesterday being such a bomb, it was nice to have today be such a good day. I’m not saying that I was super productive, but I am saying that I got stuff done. I also talked with a few people about my dip yesterday and it was nice to have some other perspectives on the matter. It was what I needed. I’m suddenly reminded of Paris Geller in Gilmore Girls when she went a little crazy as the editor of the Yale Daily News. She said “No man is an island, but this woman is,” or something to that effect. I need to remember that this woman ain’t an island either, and that sometimes it’s okay to talk through hard things and seek advice. I think I’ve just held everything so close to my chest for so long, that it’s hard for me to open up. Even with my goal of being an author I wasn’t very candid for the longest time. I kept it to myself. Sure, I had a few friends that knew, though I’m sure some of them didn’t think I was serious, but there were people that I had worked with for years that would be surprised when I told them that I spent my days off writing.

Most people thought I was crazy when I said I was quitting my job to pursue this dream that many of them hadn’t even heard of. I’m trying to change that. I’m trying to tell everyone that will listen, and even the ones that won’t, that I’m going to be an author; that I’m going to write a novel. Some people still do the classic pat-on-the-head/”that’s nice dear, but what are you really going to do?” thing, but more people are supportive of my goals, and that’s pretty neat. It means that they’re a part of this shared journey and it means that I can lean on them or talk to them when I’m maybe not having the best of days, or not feeling the greatest about what I’m working on. That’s pretty special.

Leave a Reply

